Controlling Time

Donia
2 min readMar 2, 2024
Photo by Emmanuel Acua on Unsplash

I grasp at strings with trembling hands,
Seeking control in shifting sands
Every detail I want meticulously planned,
But as fate determined, I can’t control every grain of Sand.

I crave dominion over every turn,
Yearning for control, makes my heart churn,
Yet destiny’s dance I cannot discern,
In the ebb and flow of life, I get burned.

I build my walls high, a fortress so grand,
Hoping to control what’s out of hand.
But storms of life, they swiftly expand,
Breaking through barriers, leaving me unmanned.

With each brick laid, I thought I’d command,
But it seems I made my castle out of sand,
My control is just a whisper slipping from my hand,
Against fate’s relentless tide, I cannot withstand.

I find it hard to surrender to the winds that blow,
Embracing uncertainty is something I never wish to know,
Yet with all things said, my stubbornness does show,
Resisting change is the path I choose to tow.

--

--

Donia

I’m not really sure why I write, I always hated it in school and now I use it to convey what I don’t feel like I can say out-loud, enjoy.